The Ultimate Guide to Reading Terry Pratchett’s Discworld Series: A Comprehensive Examination into the Perfect Reading Order


The Discworld series, created by the imaginative mind of Terry Pratchett, reigns prominently in the world of fantasy literature. Exploring the reading order of Terry Pratchett’s works unveils an unprecedented journey into a world where humor and profundity exist side by side, providing a unique experience for readers.

Understanding the Discworld Universe

The Discworld Universe isn’t merely a collection of fantasy stories, it’s a mirror into our world through satire, wit and incisive observations. Tucked away between the lines of these books, readers discover intricate theatricals of socio-political commentary, stirring reflections on life’s vagaries, and light-hearted fun. And while it’s easy to be intimidated by the sheer volume of books in the series, a correct approach to reading them unveils an engaging chronicle like no other – a chronicle better understood and experienced in a particular order.

The Recommended Reading Order

While some fans of the Discworld choose to read the books in the order they were published, others prefer a character-centric approach. Here is our recommended reading order, following narrative threads and character arcs for a fuller Discworld experience:

  1. The Colour of Magic: Start where it all began. The Colour of Magic introduces Rincewind, a luckless wizard ensnared in comical misadventures.
  2. The Light Fantastic: Continuing Rincewind’s tale, this book seals the first chapter of the Discworld universe and sets pace for what’s to come.

*Tip of the Iceberg – The Watch Novels

The City Watch stories are a cornerstone of the Discworld series. Starting from Guards! Guards!, we recommend reading the Watch novels in the order of their publication for a more immersive journey through Ankh-Morpork’s unorthodox law enforcement.

The Witches – A Parallel Thread

Parallel to the City Watch narratives is another series starring the witches of Lancre: Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg, and Magrat Garlick. Their stories begin with Equal Rites, followed by Wyrd Sisters and Witches Abroad.

Flip the Coin – The Death Novels

Every narrative universe has its fair share of philosophical depth, and in Discworld, these come embodied in the person…or the skeleton of Death. Death’s narratives begin with Mort.

The Subsequences – Other Character Arcs

Within the expanse of Discworld, other character arcs that constitute their own mini-series. These include Tiffany Aching, a young, powerful witch and the subject of children’s books starting with The Wee Free Men, and the Industrial Revolution novels starting with Moving Pictures.


Choosing the perfect reading order for Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series is not without its challenges, given its extensive bibliography and interwoven storylines. However, this guide streamlines the reading process, letting new readers experience the best of Pratchett’s wit, wisdom, and whimsical world-building, one book at a time. Happy reading!

Related Posts

Leave a Comment